Ikebana has been practiced for over 600 years and is considered one of the traditional arts of Japan.  

The Ohara School of Ikebana was founded in Japan in 1895 by Unshin Ohara

The Ohara School's Toronto Chapter was founded almost forty years ago by merging two groups, the Toronto Ohara Club and Etobicoke Ikebana (Ohara School), and so was authorized by the Ohara School of Ikebana's Tokyo Headquarters on May 13, 1974.  For more information, see the website at HQ.  

Our local chapter's founder, the late Mrs. Toshiko Yoshikawa, presided over our chapter from 1974 to 2005, and was succeeded by our immediate past-president, the late Mrs. Hodo-Michiko Mizoguchi who presided from 2006 to 2012 and 2014-2016. 

The school had Mrs. Mitzi Yau appointed by Headquarters as the local chapter president for the next term of 2012 to 2014. 

The current president is Mrs. Ming-Li Wu, serving for the 2021 to 2023 term.  She also served the previous term from 2016 to 2021.

Our local chapter is comprised of seventy (61) active members including twenty-five (25) members who are master level teachers.

Hana-kanade by Hiroki Ohara, current headmaster.

For additional information on the Ohara School of Ikebana chapters worldwide, visit our Worldwide Chapters.